Life in the Slow Lane

August 28, 2009

Book closes on ‘Reading Rainbow’

Filed under: Entertainment,Parenting,Television — pauljlane @ 2:08 pm

I was sad to see today that the popular PBS show “Reading Rainbow” will no longer be produced.

Created nearly 30 years ago, “Reading Rainbow”introduced generations of young viewers to book (I can remember resisting the call of the outdoors as a youngster to watch the program at 10 a.m. daily before running outside to play for the balance of the day). Host LeVar Burton did a terrific job of making reading fun.

I am sad that my children won’t get to experience the show (although there are videos in existence). Their love of books is already evident even at an age where they can’t yet read, but without “Reading Rainbow” I might have given up reading completely before I even entered my teens. Not only that, but theshow turned me on to numerous titles I might otherwise have missed out on.

Fare thee well, “Reading Rainbow.” You will be missed.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

