Life in the Slow Lane

June 12, 2009

Famous Facebook friends and the fans who adore them

Filed under: Entertainment,Life — pauljlane @ 11:57 am

Every so often, I’ll go through the little Facebook link that “suggests” friends based on who your friends’ friends are.
Most of the time, I don’t find anyone I’d want to add. But this morning, I saw Drew Stafford and instantly clicked to add him.
The Buffalo Sabres player has never met me, probably never will and, even if he did, would never remember me. Yet I had to add him.
Why? Well, I guess it’s kinda cool to have famous friends.
I have a handful of such friends amongst my Facebook army, including Bills receiver Lee Evans, Bills running back Marshawn Lynch, Bills defensive back Donte Whitner and Sabres defenseman Teppo Numminen. If I find more, I’ll add them.
There’s just something neat about being “friends” with these people. It gives fans one more way, however insignificant it may be, to connect with their favorite players/performers, the same reason sports fans refer to the team as “we.”
That’s why I keep Mark McKinney’s phone number in my cell phone. He called me once to do an interview in advance of a Kids in the Hall tour stop. He won’t call again. I won’t call him again. But there it is, a reminder that I actually got to speak to one of my favorite funnymen.
Cheesy. Lame. Dorky. Pick your adjective, and it’d probably be correct. But I will keep doing it, and so will many other people seeking one more way to prove their fanhood.
Here’s my Facebook page if you care to peek into my tiny corner of the world.

1 Comment »

  1. What a cute picture you have on your facebook page!

    Comment by Olive — June 13, 2009 @ 12:06 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

