Life in the Slow Lane

June 11, 2008

D-Lister knocked completely off the list

Filed under: Parenting — pauljlane @ 4:56 pm

As promised in the June 12 Night & Day, here’s why Kathy Griffin got blown off during a recent call made to me.

Griffin was doing a series of interviews May 22 to promote her “Life on the D-List” reality series. One of those was with me, but she couldn’t talk until 7 p.m., so I gave her my cell phone number to call me at home.

That morning, my wife and I found out we were pregnant with our second child. I went to work with the plan to visit family members afterward to spread the good word. I didn’t think an interview would fit in with those plans, so I contacted Griffin’s PR rep at the cable network Bravo to postpone.

Only word never reached the red-headed comedian.

So there I was at my in-laws’ house, about 7:15 that night, when my cell phone rings. Blocked number – I didn’t know who it could be, so I picked up.

“Hello,” said the dialer, “Kathy Griffin here for your interview.”

Oops.

I explained that I couldn’t speak because of a family situation – and said I’d contacted someone that afternoon to postpone – then I contacted her rep again the next day to explain the circumstances. The rep understood, but said that Griffin would not be available for another interview.

Oh well. Nothing against Griffin, but the news I got that day was better than anything she was going to tell me.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

