Life in the Slow Lane

June 3, 2008

Nothing beats OT hockey

Filed under: Sports — pauljlane @ 9:45 am

I stayed up after my daughter went to bed last night to watch what I figured would be Detroit’s coronation ceremony, as the Red Wings seem destined to close out the Stanley Cup finals in five games.

Funny thing happened. The Penguins scored with 35 seconds to send the game to overtime … and then double overtime … and then triple overtime.

Like most local hockey fans, I tried my best to watch the entire thing. Nothing is more exciting in sports than overtime hockey in the playoffs. The action is non-stop with no commercial breaks, and every single shot, tip and deflection could mean the end of the game – and the series, in this case.

Like many, though, I had to throw in the towel. Penny woke up and went back to sleep while the game went on, but my exhaustion forced me to cave in and go to bed after the second overtime ended. You hate going to bed because you know the game could end at any second, but exhaustion will always win in the end.

Pittsburgh won the game halfway through the third overtime (4-3) to force a game six in Pennsylvania. If the action is going to be intense as it was Monday night/Tuesday morning, let’s hope it goes the full seven.

1 Comment »

  1. I stayed up for the whole thing (game 5), Paul … and it was worth it. And last night’s game was almost as good. As much as I wanted to see Detroit lose, I have to admit it was just great to watch some good hockey.

    Comment by Scott Leffler — June 5, 2008 @ 6:54 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

